Week 1 2014: Weekday picks!

Aaaaaand we’re back.  Business as usual.  Week 1 picks are coming in fast and we will be updating as more and more come in.  Check back often as we continue to update this post with weekday picks, and as always we will be back Saturday morning with all of your College Gameday picks including Corso’s first FBS headgear pick of the season!

Lee Corso:
EWU over SHSU (headgear pick)

Mark May:
Ole Miss over Boise St

Brian Griese:
Ole Miss over Boise St

Robert Smith:
S.Carolina over TAMU

Pat Forde:
Colorado over CSU
Mich St over Jax St
Arizona over UNLV
UNC over Liberty
Iowa St over ND St
KState over SFA
Mizzou over SD St
Nebraska over FAU
OU over LaTech
FSU over Okla St
Iowa over N Iowa
Michigan over App St
NW over Cal
Ohio over Kent St
Marshall over Mia(OH)
Toledo over NH
Oregon over S Dakota
USC over Fresno St
Stanford over UCD
Georgia over Clemson
Bama over WVU
Auburn over Arkansas
LSU over Wisconsin
Washington over Hawaii
Wyoming over Montana
Ohio St over Navy
ND over Rice
UCF over Penn St
Tennessee over Utah St
Baylor over SMU

Phil Steele
Bama over WVU
Marshall over MiaOH
Mich over App St
UGA over Clemson
S.Carolina over TAMU
LSU over Wisconsin
FSU over Okla St

Joey Galloway:
Georgia over Clemson

Mike Bellotti:
FSU over Okla St

Kevin Carter:
LSU over Wisconsin

Jason Sehorn:
LSU over Wisconsin

Jennifer’s Picks:
S.Carolina over TAMU

2014-15 College Gameday Season Preview

And as always, we are here with the official College Gameday season preview, complete with predictions on Heisman winners, conference champions, the national championship, and various other items.  Of course, these are not counted in the official record, but will be great to review after the season is over so that we can see who is this year’s Nostradamus, and who truly embarrassed themselves.

Lee Corso:
Florida to win SEC East
Notre Dame to win 9 games
UCLA to win Pac 12
Brett Hundley to win Heisman
UCF to make major bowl
FSU to win ACC
OU to win Big 12
Mich St to win Big 10
Bama to win SEC
Final Four: FSU, Mich St, UCLA, Bama
UCLA over FSU in championship

Kirk Herbstreit:
Georgia to win SEC East
Notre Dame to win 7 games
Stanford to win Pac 12 North
UCLA to win Pac 12
Brett Hundley to win Heisman
UCF to make major bowl
FSU to win ACC
OU to win Big 12
Mich St to win Big 10
Bama to win SEC
Final Four: FSU, Bama, UCLA, Mich St
FSU over Bama in championship

Desmond Howard:
Georgia to win SEC East
Notre Dame to win 9 games
Todd Gurley to win Heisman
Marshall to make major bowl
FSU to win ACC
Texas to win Big 12
Wisconsin to win Big 10
UCLA to win Pac 12
Georgia to win SEC
Final Four: FSU, Georgia, UCLA, Wisconsin
UCLA over Georgia in championship

Jennifer’s Picks:
Brett Hundley to win Heisman
Boise St to make major bowl
Clemson to win ACC
Baylor to win Big 12
Mich St to win Big 10
UCLA to win Pac 12
Georgia to win SEC
Final Four: Georgia, Baylor, Mich St, UCLA
UCLA over Baylor in championship

Welcome back – Preseason predictions

Check one two.  Does this thing still work?

Good.  We are back for another exciting year of college football, which means an even more exciting year of tracking your favorite (or most hated) personalities on their picks.  For our first post this season, we will be posting all kinds of random preseason picks from random people.  These don’t count for the official record, but they are fun to review after the season is over!  Here we go…

Trevor Matich:
FSU to win championship

Brett McMurphy:
Bama to win championship

David Pollack:
Final Four – Bama, FSU, UGA, Mich St

Kevin carter
Auburn to win SEC west
S.Carolina to win SEC East
Auburn to win SEC
Wisconsin to win Big Ten West
Mich St to win Big Ten East
Mich St to win Big Ten
Texas to beat OU
Bryce Petty Big 12 Player of the year
Charlie Strong Big 12 Coach of the year
Baylor to win Big 12

Jason Sehorn:
Wisconsin to win Big Ten West
Mich St to win Big Ten East
Mich St to win Big Ten

Tom luginbill:
Bama to win SEC West
S.Carolina to win SEC East
Bama to win SEC
Davis Webb Big 12 Player of the Year
Art Bryles Big 12 Coach of the Year
Baylor to win Big 12

Tim Tebow:
Bama to win championship

Paul Finebaum:
Bama to make playoff, only team from sec

Mel Kiper Jr.:
Final Four – FSU, OU, UCLA, Georgia

Dari Nowkhah:
Final Four – FSU, Bama, Mich St, USC

Mack Brown:
FSU in the playoff

2013-14 Season Awards!

Yeah so it is a little bit delayed, but here are the awards for our 2013-14 season of Cole’s Gameday Blog Football Championship Stuff Edition!!!

2013-14 Bowl Co-Champions:
Phil Steele/Robert Smith (21-14).  It was a down year in the Bowl Pick’em leagues, but our two champs this year include multiple Bowl Pick’em winner Robert Smith, and newcomer (to this blog) Phil Steele.

Best preseason pick of the year: Colin Cowherd, Ole Miss over Texas.  It was supposed to be a bounce-back year for Mack Brown and the Texas Longhorns, and nobody was predicting big things for the Ole Miss Rebels.  However, Colin went out on a limb and called this one week before the season started, and was amazingly right!

Best Weeks of the Year:
Colin Cowherd, Week 9 (11-0)
Bubba Watson, Week 5 (10-0)
Jennifer’s Picks, Week 5 (13-1)
Pat Forde, Week 4 (30-3)

Worst Week of the Year:
Robert Smith, Week 8 (0-9)

Best Picks of the Year:
Lou Holtz, Week 1: NDSU over KState
Lou Holtz, Fiest Bowl: UCF over Baylor
Nobody on earth would have picked either of these upsets.  Somehow Lou Holtz picked both.  What does this mean?  I don’t know, but it is impressive.

Upset Specialists:
Jennifer’s upset specials: 10-5, 66.67%
Mark Schlabach: 7-5, 58.33%
Todd McShay: 8-10, 44.44%
Brad Edwards: 6-8, 42.86%
Lee Corso: 2-3, 40%
Kirk Herbstreit: 1-4, 20%

2013-14 Cole’s Gameday Blog SEASON CHAMPION!!!
Pat Forde: 301-95, 76.01%
This year’s champion, Pat Forde, is unusual in the sense that not only did he finish with the strongest record amongst our competitors, but he also had the most picks of anyone this year.  I would say that is strong to quite strong.  The full slate of results is below, but let’s take a minute to congratulate Pat Forde for a historic season.

The first section is our true competitors this season, and the second section are those who didn’t have enough picks to qualify for the yearly awards.

Pat Forde: 301-95, 76.01%
Phil Steele: 102-36, 73.91%
Colin Cowherd: 115-43, 72.78%
Desmond Howard: 71-30, 70.30%
Jennifer’s Picks: 149-63, 70.28%
Mel Kiper Jr.: 54-27, 66.67%
Lee Corso: 128-50, 66.07%
Mike Bellotti: 26-14, 65.00%
Mark May: 46-25, 64.79%
Kirk Herbstreit: 114-63, 64.41%
Dari Nowkhah: 117-66, 63.93%
Jason Sehorn: 72-43, 62.61%
Brad Edwards: 31-19, 62.00%
Celebrity Guests: 95-60, 61.29%
Todd McShay: 65-44, 59.63%
David Pollack: 32-22, 59.26%
Mark Schlabach: 31-24, 56.36%
Robert Smith: 70-55, 56.00%
Lou Holtz: 38-31, 55.07%

Tim Cowlishaw: 3-0, 100.00%
Tim Tebow: 1-0, 100.00%
Kevin Blackistone: 1-0, 100.00%
Charles Arbuckle: 26-5, 83.87%
Ivan Maisel: 16-5, 76.19%
Chris Fowler: 12-4, 75.00%
Trevor Matich: 29-10, 74.36%
Tom Luginbill: 24-10, 70.59%
Paul Finebaum: 15-7, 68.18%
Bill Plaschke: 4-2, 66.67%
Matt Millen: 5-3, 62.50%
Ryen Russillo: 23-14, 62.16%
Danny Kanell: 12-8, 60.00%
Joey Galloway: 3-2, 60.00%
Andre Ware: 3-2, 60.00^
Jesse Palmer: 14-10, 58.33%
Skip Bayless: 9-7, 56.25%
Brian Griese: 21-18, 53.85%
Ed Cunningham: 18-17, 51.43%
Chris Fallia: 11-11, 50.00%
Kevin Carter: 4-4, 50.00%
Scott Van Pelt: 3-3, 50.00%
Woody Paige: 2-2, 50.00%
JA Adande: 1-1, 50.00%
Mike Golic: 1-1, 50.00%
Stephen A. Smith: 1-1, 50.00%
Matt Stinchcomb: 7-8, 46.67%
Brock Huard: 2-3, 40.00%
Jackie MacMullen: 0-1, 0.00%
Mike Greenberg: 0-2, 0.00%
Rod Gilmore: 0-4, 0.00%


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers