Monthly Archives: January, 2015

2014-15 Season results & champion! #cfb #cfbplayoff

The 2014-15 college football season has come to a close, and with it the season here at closes with it.  It was one of the most exciting seasons we’ve seen both on the field and on the blog, so let’s dive right into this season’s results.  All of the qualifying competitors this year (with 50+ picks on the season) are the following:

2014-15 Season Right-Wrong % Correct
Brett McMurphy 56-20 73.68%
Lou Holtz 53-19 73.61%
Jason Sehorn 53-19 73.61%
Colin Cowherd 102-39 72.34%
Greg McElroy 71-27 71.72%
Phil Steele 185-80 69.81%
David Pollack 64-29 68.82%
Robert Smith 69-32 68.32%
Marcus Spears 48-23 67.61%
Danny Kanell 48-23 67.61%
Tim Tebow 47-23 67.14%
Jon Berger 51-25 67.11%
Lee Corso 118-59 66.67%
Pat Forde 283-142 66.59%
Stanford Steve Coughlin 73-38 65.77%
Mel Kiper Jr. 41-22 65.08%
Desmond Howard 120-68 63.83%
Booger McFarland 44-25 63.77%
Paul Finebaum 50-29 63.29%
Kevin Carter 65-38 63.11%
Chris Fallica 64-39 62.14%
Celebrity Guests 93-59 61.18%
Dari Nowhkah 40-26 60.61%
Jennifer 129-84 60.56%
Kirk Herbstreit 109-75 59.24%
Todd McShay 43-33 56.58%
Trevor Matich 37-29 56.06%
Mark May 28-27 50.91%
Brett McMurphy: 2014-15 Champion

Brett McMurphy: 2014-15 Champion

That means the man with the legendary mustache and legendary picking skills, Brett McMurphy, is your 2014-15 season champion!  Mark May came up on the short end of the stick, which I’m sure will amuse many of you.  Going into bowl season, it was looking like our new buddies from the SEC Network were going to run away with this year’s championship along with Stanford Steve Coughlin.  However, a disastrous bowl season doomed all of them to mediocrity, leaving Brett McMurphy as one left standing (barely edging out a great season by Lou Holtz and Jason Sehorn).

Lee Corso’s headgear picks went 13-5 on the year (technically 14-5 with his EWU pick against SHSU), which means Corso’s headgear picks edged out Charley the Cat’s picks at 11-7 on the year.  Better luck next year Charley.

Our greatest week of the season goes to Phil Steele, who in week 5 went a stunning 15-0 on the week.

The best pick of the year will be shared by Desmond Howard, Mark May, Jennifer, and the Oregon Duck, who all picked Virginia Tech to beat THE Ohio State Buckeyes in week 2.  It was shocking when it happened, and makes even less sense looking back, so congratulations to all of you.

Conversely, let’s give Desmond Howard the worst pick of the year, taking Oregon State to beat Oregon in rivalry week.

Desmond Howard picked against Michigan twice this season, going 1-1 against his Wolverines.  He also picked in favor of Michigan 7 times this season, going an impressive 2-5 with his home team.

That will wrap things up for the 2014-15 season here.  Who knows, maybe this will be the year I actually post something in the offseason?

2014-15 Bowl Season: Results are in! #cfbplayoff #cfbchampionship #bowlmania

The 2014-15 Bowl season has come to an end, which I guess means the actual season has come to an end, but let’s focus on bowl season for now.  As you know, the majority of pickers went with the 6-point-underdog Buckeyes to beat Oregon, but how about the rest of the games?  We will start off by crowning the 2014-15 Bowl Season champion.  Coming in with a record of 25-14 is 2012-13 Bowl Season champion, and 2013-14 Bowl Season co-champion, Robert Smith.  That is three years in a row winning or splitting the bowl season championship, so we are certainly impressed.  Here he is at our awards ceremony claiming his award!

Robert Smith: 2014-15 Bowl Champion!

Robert Smith: 2014-15 Bowl Champion!

Other than that, the records of our qualifying competitors are listed below:

Qualifying Pickers:
Robert Smith: 25-14
Mark Schlabach: 23-16
Ed Cunningham: 22-17
Phil Steele: 21-17 (no championship pick)
Todd McShay: 20-19
Jennifer’s Picks: 20-19
Cole’s Picks: 20-19
Stanford Steve: 19-20
Pat Forde: 17-22

And everyone else:
Charles Arbuckle: 4-4
Skip Bayless: 1-2
Mike Bellotti: 1-1
Jon Berger: 2-4
Kevin Blackistone: 1-0
Mack Brown: 1-2
Kevin Carter: 1-5
Charley the Cat: 1-1
Gene Chizik: 0-2
Lee Corso: 5-3
Colin Cowherd: 3-4
Tim Cowlishaw: 3-0
Butch Davis: 0-3
Heather Dinich: 13-7
Brad Edwards: 5-5
Chris Fallica: 10-7
Paul Finebaum: 2-5
Joey Galloway: 7-2
Rod Gilmore: 2-0
Mike Golic: 1-3
Mike Greenberg: 1-2
Brian Griese: 0-1
Kirk Herbstreiet: 8-9
Lou Holtz: 8-3
Desmond Howard: 4-7
Brock Huard: 0-2
Danny Kanell: 8-5
Mel Kiper Jr.: 2-1
Tom Luginbill: 0-3
Ivan Maisel: 0-3
Trevor Matich: 3-6
Mark May: 0-2
Greg McElroy: 2-2
Booger McFarland: 1-2
Brett McMurphy: 1-2
Matt Millen: 2-1
Brent Musberger: 1-0
Dari Nowkhah: 0-3
Woody Paige: 1-0
Jesse Palmer: 0-3
Bill Plaschke: 0-1
David Pollack: 2-7
Ryen Russillo: 0-1
Bob Ryan: 1-0
Stephen A. Smith: 1-0
Marcus Spears: 2-3
Matt Stinchcomb: 1-1
Tim Tebow: 1-3
Scott Van Pelt: 1-0
Andre Ware: 1-2

Congratulations to everyone above for a great showing this year, or at least trying.  We are hard at work computing records to crown the season championship, so stay tuned for at least one more update!

2014-15 College football championship results! #cfbplayoff #cfbchampionship

Last night was quite a performance by the Ohio State Buckeyes, and while they were the underdog in Vegas it should be no surprise to our panel of experts we tracked here.  Our expert panel picked Ohio State to beat Oregon by a margin of 30 to 21.  So let us all join in and congratulate the following 30 experts for being such geniuses in predicting the first College Football Playoff champion!

Picked Ohio State:
Steve Addazio
Skip Bayless
Kevin Blackistone
Todd Blackledge
Charley the Cat
Lee Corso (headgear pick)
Stanford Steve Coughlin
Colin Cowherd
Tim Cowlishaw
Brad Edwards
Chris Fallica
Joey Galloway
Mike Greenberg
Brady Hoke
Lou Holtz
Brian Kelly
Mel Kiper Jr.
Tom Luginbill
Booger McFarland
Todd McShay
Matt Millen
Brent Musberger
Woody Paige
David Pollack
Bob Ryan
Mark Schlabach
Robert Smith
Stephen A. Smith
Marcus Spears
Scott Van Pelt

And with all wins, there must be losses.  Let us hang our heads in shame for all of the experts who took the favorite.

Picked Oregon:
Charles Arbuckle
Mike Bellotti
Mack Brown
Kevin Carter
Butch Davis
Heather Dinich
Paul Finebaum
Pat Forde
Mike Golic
Brian Griese
Desmond Howard
Danny Kanell
Ivan Maisel
Trevor Matich
Mark May
Brett McMurphy
Dari Nowkhah
Jesse Palmer
Bill Plaschke
Ryen Russillo

Good game ladies and gentlemen.  We will be tallying up bowl season records shortly, and then we will be crowning the 2014-15 season champion!