2015-16 Bowl season results! #CFBPlayoff #BowlMania

Welcome back ladies and gentlemen.  With the fantastic CFB Playoff championship game in the books last night, that means the bowl season has ended.  It is now time that we look back and review how all of our competitors did playing a little bit of Bowl Mania pick’em.

We had 12 of our expert predictors and prognosticators who picked enough of the bowl games to qualify for our championship competition this year.  As with most things around here, it is all subjective and up to my judgment as to what to make of all of this mess.  Not everyone picked the Celebration Bowl between NC A&T and Alcorn State.  Some of us picked it, and it ended up being quite profitable.  Not everyone had a qualifying CFB Playoff Championship pick, because some of them picked before the playoff and had Oklahoma playing in the championship game.  And for some reason, Pat Forde refused to pick any bowl games involving 5-7 teams, but since he still picked most of them I have granted him a waiver.  Without further adieu, I present to you this year’s Gamedaycole.com official bowl championship rankings.

Cole’s Picks: 32-10
Joey Galloway: 31-11
Chris Doering: 29-13
Phil Steele: 29-12 SU, 14-9 ATS
Jennifer’s Picks: 27-14
Todd McShay: 27-15
Pat Forde: 26-12
Ryen Russillo: 25-17
Danny Kanell: 24-18
Joel Klatt: 24-17
Mark Schlabach: 23-18
Dari Nowkhah: 22-20

As you can see, Cole’s picks came out on top this year coming in at 32-10.  Not to toot my own too much, but I’m pretty good at picking bowl games.  Pay no attention to last year’s results behind the curtain where I went 20-18 in Bowl Mania.  Anyways, since I can’t very well give myself an award for picking bowl games (I guess I could since it is my site), we are proud to announce that Joey Galloway has won the 2015-16 Gamedaycole.com Bowl Season Championship at 31-11!


We had a grand total of 59 experts who participated in bowl season this year, and for the full results you can check out the list below to see how your favorite (or most hated) personality did during bowl season.  Since my full list of bowl picks for all of these people is over 30 pages long, you’ll just have to take my word on it for now.  Congratulations to everyone who participated this year.

Andrea Adelson: 1-1
Charles Arbuckle: 1-2
Skip Bayless: 1-2 SU, 1-0 ATS
Mike Bellotti: 3-2
Jon Berger: 7-1
Kevin Blackstone: 1-0
Mack Brown: 2-2
Kevin Carter: 15-10
Lee Corso: 2-4 (1-2 headgear picks)
Stanford Steve Coughlin: 2-6 SU, 3-9 ATS
Colin Cowherd: 7-1 SU, 0-1 ATS
Tim Cowlishaw: 7-1 SU, 8-5 ATS
Ed Cunningham: 5-9
Butch Davis: 2-2
Rece Davis: 1-0
Heather Dinich: 14-6
Brad Edwards: 7-0 SU, 4-1 ATS
Chris “The Bear” Fallica: 7-7 SU, 10-9 ATS
Paul Finebaum: 10-3
Mike Golic: 3-0 SU, 2-0 ATS
Mike Greenberg: 3-0 SU, 1-0 ATS
Brian Griese: 2-0
Israel Gutierrez: 1-0
Kirk Herbstreit: 6-4
Lou Holtz: 1-2
Desmond Howard: 8-4
Mel Kiper Jr.: 2-0
Matt Leinart: 2-1
Tom Luginbill: 4-0
Trevor Matich: 4-0
Mark May: 3-1
Greg McElroy: 13-3
Booger McFarland: 9-5
Ryan McGee: 1-0
Urban Meyer: 1-0
Woody Paige: 0-1
Jesse Palmer: 1-0
Petros Papadakis: 2-1
Brady Quinn: 1-2
David Pollack: 6-5
Jason Sehorn: 7-2
Robert Smith: 2-2
Marcus Spears: 10-2
Clint Stoerner: 1-0
Tim Tebow: 2-1
Scott Van Pelt: 2-1 SU, 0-1 ATS
Andre Ware: 1-0

2013-14 Bowl Season: Results are in! #bowlmania

In this reporter’s opinion, the 2013-14 Bowl Season was one that upfront looked like a disapointing schedule, yet turned out to be one of the more exciting bowl seasons I can remember.  The BCS era definitely went out with a bang thanks to four of five major upsets, and a championship game which will be remembered for a long time.  However, our panel of experts struggled this year with the bowl picks.  For reference, the previous bowl season champions are:

2006-2007 Bowl Season Champion: Howie Schwab @ 24-8, 75%
2007-2008 Bowl Season Champion: Colin Cowherd @ 25-7, 78.1%
2008-2009 Bowl Season Champion: Pat Forde @ 17-10, 63%
2009-2010 Bowl Season Champion: Jesse Palmer @ 18-16, 52.9%
2010-2011 Bowl Season Champion: Todd McShay @ 20-11, 64.52%
2011-2012 Bowl Season Champion: Tony Reali @ 25-10, 71.43%
2012-13 Bowl Season Co-Champions: Robert Smith & Jennifer, 25-10, 71.43%

So some years are up and others are down.  This wasn’t quite as bad as the 2009-10 season when Jesse Palmer won the championship basically because I already ordered the trophy and had to send it to somebody.  However, this year I would like to present to you a set of co-champions for the second year in a row.  This year’s winners are last year’s co-champion Robert Smith and newcomer Phil Steele.  They went 21-14 this season, which is low for a champion, but this is also a year in which none of our main competitors (defined as those who picked all 35 games) finished with a losing record.  It was a very tight group.  Check out the records below to see how your favorite (or most hated) personality did this year in the bowl games.

Qualifying Competitors:
Phil Steele: 21-14
Robert Smith: 21-14
Dari Nowkhah: 20-15
Jennifer’s Picks: 20-15
Pat Forde: 20-15
Todd McShay: 19-16
Mark Schlabach: 18-17
Ed Cunningham: 18-17

Others receiving votes:
Mel Kiper Jr.: 1-0
Mike Golic: 1-0
Chris Fowler: 1-0
Trevor Matich: 1-0
Tim Tebow: 1-0
Brad Edwards: 1-0
Scott Van Pelt: 1-0
Bill Plaschke: 1-0
Ivan Maisel: 1-0
Stephen A Smith: 1-0
Andre Ware: 3-2
Joey Galloway: 3-2
Matt Millen: 3-2
David Pollack: 7-7
Brian Griese: 3-3
Magic Johnson: 3-3
Ryen Russillo: 2-2
Kirk Herbstreit: 6-7
Lee Corso: 4-5
Desmond Howard: 2-3
Kevin Carter: 2-3
Brock Huard: 2-3
Danny Kanell: 3-4
Jesse Palmer: 3-5
Mark May: 2-4
Lou Holtz: 2-4
Mike Bellotti: 1-4
Tom Luginbill: 1-4
Matt Stinchcomb: 1-4
Colin Cowherd: 1-5
Mike Greenberg: 0-1
Paul Finebaum: 0-1
Skip Bayless: 0-1
Woody Paige: 0-1
Jackie MacMullen: 0-1
Rod Gilmore: 0-4